How to get "analogue" prints colors?

Hi everyone,

I’ve been using NLP with satisfaction for a few years now, but every time I convert a film I ask myself the same questions, which I report here in the hope that someone can clarify:

• If NLP needs to do an analysis for each negative, maybe it also balances the colors for each image?

• If you balance the colors for each image, does it mean that those colors will not be the same throughout the roll?

• I can use the “copy scene” function but how do I understand which image is with the correct balance?

• How can I prevent NLP from correcting an “own” behavior of the single film stock?

• How can I simulate what happened in the chemical printing, that all the images had the same tonal balance? Ok, changing paper changed prints, but printing a lot of rolls keeps all images consistent with each other.

• Could there be a feature of NLP that develops the negative independently from the single image? Maybe balancing only the exposure like in analogue printing?

I hope I have explained :wink:

Thank you so much!

1 Like

Your question is quite similar to this one, it’s probably quite a difficult one to answer, I certainly can’t because i’ve done very few colour negatives as yet but the OP for that question did seem to get what he wanted by using the ‘Frontier’ LUT.

To explain myself better, my concern comes from the fact that if I convert two images with the same exposure but scenes with different predominant colors, the color balance changes a lot.

Obviously I’m not using automatic white balance. Digital camera was in M, same exposure for entire roll. I’m converting with “Frontier” color model, Pre-Saturation “3” (anyway, changing these don’t change much in results); Edit Settings: Tones “LAB - Standard”, WB “Standard”.

For example, if I convert photo A and then copy the scene to B, I get warmer colors:

>>>

If instead I convert photo B and then copy the conversion (copy-scene) to A, I get colder colors instead: