Lens Correction for Sigma Macro Art Vignetting

I’m doing some troubleshooting to figure out the source of my pale (inverted) corners and edges that are very obvious in images that have dark backgrounds. I want to try to narrow down the causes as well as figure out what is actually normal procedure, since I’m new to camera scanning.

I was getting uneven density, especially at the sides and corners of darker images (think flash at night, dark background), which I initially attributed to my Nikon ES-2 being perhaps too narrow. Today I received a Valoi Easy35, which supposedly has the unevenness bugs worked out, and I’m getting similar edge/corner issues.

Equipment used: Sony A7Rii and Sigma 70mm Macro Art, usually shot at 5.6 or 8
Light source: initially Viltrox 116 with the Nikon ES-2, now Valoi Easy35

Questions:

• Is it normal to have to apply a lens correction in LR for this lens? If I use the lens correction option and set it to 200 for vignetting, it’s mostly fixed.

• If the lens is the issue, is there a lens that maintains the impressive sharpness and general “wow” factor of this Sigma, but without the vignetting?

I noticed that if I correct in NLP vs NegSets/Negmaster/PS, it is less noticeable. I then discovered that NLP enables LR’s lens correction automatically. That seems to tell me that this is normal behavior and I’m being too picky (not the first time).

Any insight as to where I should place my expectations? Is there a real problem here, or is this standard procedure? I don’t mind making these corrections part of my workflow, but if it is an abnormal equipment issue, I’d rather fix at the source.

If the lens of your “camera scanner” is the cause…you’d need an other lens - or simply correct the effect as far as it makes sense. Alternatively, you could check out DxO PureRaw and test it with the free trial in order to see if it does what you need.

Lens aberrations are expected, unless you invest in a really good (and hence expensive) gear.

1 Like