Lightroom DPI Export Settings

Hey everyone,

I am still very new to at home scanning and Lightroom in general, I recently noticed that the dpi is being set in Lightroom when exporting, is there a recommended number for this? I do my scans with a Fuji x-t20 in raw and so far all of my photos have been exported at the default 72 dpi.

Thanks!

The dpi that you choose (or LR chooses!) when exporting a file makes no difference to the actual file, you can change it afterwards without affecting the quality at all assuming of course that you are exporting at the pixel dimensions that you need. There is a convention that 72 dpi is used for web/screen use and 300 dpi for printing but that is mainly for calculating the size at which the file will be viewed or printed respectively. Epson printers actually prefer 360 dpi for the best quality, at least mine does.

So if I can change it at any time how does it affect printing exactly? Also I don’t touch my resolution or anything when exporting, I leave it at the resolution given from the camera and after cropping, is this something I should be changing?

My example of 360 dpi for Epson printers is probably just confusing the issue here, I was just trying to think of a situation where the dpi setting actually made a difference. It’s not a good example though because it’s just a setting in the ‘Print’ module of Lightroom, I’m not exporting the file and it’s just an anomaly with how Lightroom seems to interact with the Epson printer driver.

At one time you needed to upload web images at 72dpi or else they were displayed at the wrong size but I’m pretty sure that doesn’t matter anymore.