Dust Removal in NLP

Hi Nate,

I’m just getting started using NLP with a DSLR scanner and I’m thrilled with the results. Thank you for this magical software.

The main rate limiter for me at this point is dust removal. My process is to batch WB/Crop -> batch convert -> finetune individually using sliders -> remove dust in Lightroom using the Spot Removal (Q) tool. I’m finding the final step takes ~20 minutes per image depending on how much dust is revealed after converting. See below:

Any tips for reducing dust either in the scanning phase or in editing? I’ve heard of people using Edwal Anti-Static cleaner but haven’t tried myself. In terms of software, I’ve heard of Polaroid Dust & Scratch Removal, AKVIS Retoucher and Silverfast but haven’t given them a try.

Do you plan to add dust removal in a future version of NLP or as an add-on? It would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Peter

Are you sure that your development chemicals are ok. I saw this previously when i had many small spots on my negatives . I eventually tracked it down to small particles in the stop bath which I had been using multiple times. Once I changed the stop for new batch problem was solved
Hope this helps
Gordon

Looks like water spots and not dust, try use distilled water for all chems or just the final rinse

There are many solutions. (It all starts by cleaning out your camera! Dust on film at the time of photography creates black spots in your images.)

If you process your own negatives:

Mix chemicals thoroughly with filtered water.
Use chemicals before the manufacturer’s recommended maximum storage date.
Follow the replenishment and storage guidelines precisely.
Maintain temperatures within a very narrow range.
Use a hypo clearing agent on black-and-white films to reduce wash times.
Use filtered wash water. Keep the wash temperature as close to the process temperature as possible.
Use a wetting agent before drying.