Film degradation, overexposed edges etc

I’m very very new to film scanning. I have 30 year old negatives that I’m scanning and probably have not seen better days.

Can anyone give any opinions on the posted photos about what the cause of the problems might be? I’m suspecting it’s mostly just the film quality itself and the camera used at the time maybe (probably a cheap as camera).

Mostly I see overexposed edges.

Will post more as I go.

Edit: Another example showing the extreme edge overexposure?

Most likely underexposed during scanning. What is your setup?

Here’s a better example of the light bleed in the edges (if it’s light bleed).
Obviously that photo itself is unusable as it’s taken in an extremely dark room.

I’m using a Sony A6000 with a 7artisan macro lens with this device https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005003788099019.html

Maybe I need to crop the framing edges before I use NLP?

If it was light bleeding in, it would appear as dark when you invert the negative. I think your light source is uneven. Try removing the led bit from that gizmo and use a smartphone set to a white screen. Negative Supply makes a free app to do that.

Good idea! That’ll help rule it out. Thanks.

I’ll also try this light source at different brightness levels. Maybe it can’t retain evenness at high power.

Interestingly, I notice if I adjust the border buffer so that it crops off further when producing the positive, it makes the edges way worse. So using a 0% border buffer produces a better result in my case.

Since I’m using a film holder, the borders are black, sort of…

Edit: Hmmm come to think of it, maybe that’s just because it changes the exposure. The problem might still be identical if the exposure is balanced.

Ok so I did some research and found my lens may have a vignetting problem. So I tried increasing it to +50 in Lightroom and it seems to look much better? Doesn’t seem to be any detail loss, but will need to try it in more photos to be sure.