Is there a certain brightness I should be aiming for with the backlight?

I have this product for scanning my old 20-30 year old negatives and surprisingly it works really well!

The question I have is, does it matter what brightness I use for the LED backlight? I’ve been using max brightness and have been happy with it, but the negatives I’m using are old and used by an amateur for home photography, so probably can’t see what I’m missing, if anything.

Hey Alan -

Appreciate the link to the product you are using; looks quite practical.

Questions:

• Regarding the light source: Does it run hot?
  • Regarding the negative strip holders: Do they keep the negatives flat?

Appreciate it if you would let us know if there are any other “gotchas” using that device.

Regarding the matter of “brightness”, I’m by no means an expert in that area BUT … a good source to start with for more info. on this, is a company called Negative Supply. They seem to know a bit about light sources and their CRI & TCLI ratings … which may help you.

Also, you may want to check out another company called CIneStill as well.

Anyhow, wish you continued success with your digitizing venture!!!

Oh it runs pretty damn hot at max brightness! haha, which is what I’ve been using. Which is fine, as I use it in bursts. Expected though considering how cheap it is. Colours seem accurate to my eye, but I’m no pro. Might try a lower brightness though.

It’s a surprisingly very cool device for the price.

The only other gotcha I have is that the film holder is a bit finicky to use and the sliding mechanism for the film holder makes it almost possible to have each film lined up in the exact same spot for every shot (scan). Auto-rotate and crop software would solve that, but not sure if that exists.