Integrating sphere as a uniform backlight

Hello,

I’ve started scanning a collection of old photo negatives, and after some disappointing results using commercial scanners, I decided to go the DSLR route. With the help of this forum and the NLP plugin, I’ve been able to create a nice scanning setup and I got really good results. I wanted to report back what I did here and maybe start some interesting discussions. I’m an optical scientist by training and I approached this a little differently from photography professionals.

Integrating sphere backlight
I read the various discussions about setups, backlights and RGB light sources. A common recommendation is to use a high CRI white light source as backlight, but in my view the optimal light source should instead be an RGB source with wavelengths selected for low crosstalk (i.e. optimal color separation, see link above), and independently controllable red, green and blue intensities. In a DSLR setup, I think this is the best way to recover as much color information as possible from the negatives. White light sources, on the contrary, must cause more mixing between color channels. This may or may not be problematic depending on the scene and film used.