Noise in negatives and slides

Hi everyone, I’m just getting started on my scanning project so I’m hoping that there are some simple answers to my questions. I’m seeing what I associate with sensor noise in the digital world in my “scanned” negatives and slides. My setup is summarised as:

Nikon Z6
60mm AF 1:2.8D micro Nikkor, set at F8
ISO 100, with a shutter speed of about 1s
Nikon ES-1 and ES-2
Kaiser slimlite plano as a light source, positioned about 50mm from the slide

I wasn’t expecting to see the speckling that I get, I hadn’t associated that with film, even with the age of the images, 40 years or more in some cases.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Personally I’m not clear whether the image that you have posted is just a small section of the original, and if that is from a colour negative or slide? Clearly it looks terrible but I would have thought that you could examine the original with a magnifier to compare it with your scan.

Hi Harry, yes the image is a small section to show what I see. This is another example:

They are both converted from negatives.

Thanks, would it be possible to post a low res version of the entire frame just to make it clear how small that first section is and where it is positioned in the frame, and if possible what film you are ‘scanning’? In fact from this latest example it does look to me what you would expect to see, the ‘grain’ looks sharp.

1 Like

Have you inspected your originals with a loupe? Magnification of a bout 8x to 10x will do. Whatever grain you’ll see will make it to the scanned image…

In order to see what is real and what is expectation, take a few images and take repro shots with different f-stops and scaling. Inspecting an unexposed piece of film might help too. Also play with Lightroom’s noise reduction settings and see what different settings do.

Could you share a screenshot of the histogram with NLP profile set on the image? Colour noise is often introduced when the scan is underexposed.