Red cast compared to Noritsu lab scan

Hey folks, I am new to Negative Lab Pro. My goal is to cut down on lab scanning costs and do my own camera based scanning. From my last film (Kodak Ektar 100 - 120 Film) I noticed a strong red cast in my own scans versus flat, muted tones from the Noritsu lab scan (only JPG available). I know I can change the tones both in NLP and in Lightroom. However, I was wondering why such a large tonal difference exists from the beginning - with standard NLP v2.3 settings. I followed the NLP guide and did the WB first on the film edge and cropping before doing the conversion. Please see comparison below. Noritsu lab scan on the left. My own scan on the right.

Setup:

• CS-LITE Camera Scanning Light Source (95 CRI)
  • Pentax 645D (RAW) + 120mm Macro at f/8

Thanks for your wisdom,
Stefan

@Stefan_F I was having the same issue in my first scans (I am still brand new to scanning). I figured out how to fix it, set your camera’s WB to the lowest Kelvin temperature (coolest) possible, on my Fuji GFX50r which is around 2500K.

I figured this out because I was having the red colour cast on all my scans, and I also noticed the WB slider in Lightroom was at max. So I tried setting the WB to the coolest colour temperature, it seems to fix the colour cast issue, the WB slider is not maxed out in LR, and all the scans have the same WB which makes it much easier to get consistent results.

Another thing could be going into the third tab when you open NLP and adjusting how it sets the WB, setting it to “colours first” can also remove weird problems with casts.

Lastly, the image on the right is waaay, more saturated, and contrasty than the image to the left. Otherwise, I would say the colours/tones are very close, so you might just be able to reduce the saturation and contrast in your scans to match the lab scan’s tones/colours.

Hope this helps!