Wanna play a game called, scan my negative?

I posted previously about being unable to achieve sharp scans.
I’d love to mail one of my developed rolls to someone more skilled than myself (someone who also scans with a digital camera), to compare results.

Or, Is someone willing to join a Zoom session with me to see what I’m doing wrong?
I really want to get the hang of this. I’m starting to wonder if my camera (or I), is simply not nailing focus?
I’m new to TLR/film, but I’ve been a photographer for over a decade. HELP!

You could start the game by listing what gear you use, add a photo of it or link to your post(s) dealing with your problems. Add an original raw picture file that you think had the best focus or share one in a cloud service.

This could give us an idea of how bad your scans are.

Is this the post you mention?

Vlad’s Test Target, which you can find on FreestylePhoto and also pixl-latr.com is a great tool to use to check center and corner sharpness without relying on grain to focus on. It’s true that some films/emulsions have a slightly different thickness or distance, so Vlad’s isn’t the last word before capturing the final image, but that’s where I’d start if my images were consistently coming out blurry in the digitization process.

1 Like