Why do these lab scans look so much better?

Hello everyone,

I’m relatively new to NLP and digital scanning, but I’ve had some really good results with the 4 rolls I’ve scanned so far (x2 colour, x2 B/W).

I decided to scan some old negatives that I’d had lab-scanned over the past 4 or so years, so see if I could get better results, and have higher quality scans if I ever wanted to print.

The B/W ones have been fine, but much to my dismay, I’m having real trouble with my colour scans - the lab scans just look so much better.

I’ve been using Noritsu, pre-saturation 3, border-buffer 10%

Sorry, I’m a new user so I couldn’t embed the images - had to use Imgur.

Here you can see this evening beach scene. The lab scan captures the feeling so much better. I tried fiddling around with colours etc but I couldn’t even begin to get anything that matched up.

Here’s another example. I managed to get the colours on my scan to be close to matching the lab scan, but their scan still looks better. The spiderweb is much clearer, and much more the focal point.

I know these kind of questions get asked a lot, but does anyone have any wisdom to impart? I’d appreciate any and all tips.

Hope you have a lovely day,
Sunday

Can you send some raw files? I can have a go at converting them and send you what settings I used.

To me it looks like NLP is trying too hard to make the image meet the edges of the histogram, so to speak.

Try playing with the WhiteClip and BlackClip settings, and also the LabGlow and LabFade sliders.

WhiteClip and BlackClip dictate where on the histogram of the unconverted raw file the curve to turn it positive should start and end, thus dictating what should be at the left and right of the histogram in the converted image.