Converting images is hard

Hey folks,
just digitised my 150th roll of film. I have been using NLP for a few years now and love the software, really makes scanning at home feasible.

But its hard. Getting results I am happy with and which look decent is just not an easy task.

Anybody feel that way too?

1 Like

Yes and no.
From time to time I have thought the same thing. But when I’m in that situation, I try to change something in my digital workflow.

In the beginning it was really hard for me to get the results I wanted. I found a workflow where I just convert the image and choose a very flat result in NLP. So I just used NLP to convert to a flat PNG and set the WB to auto balanced.
Everything else like exposure correction, colour grading, contrast and sharpening I did afterwards in Lightroom with the png copy of my scans. (I used a single preset for all the c41 conversions).

Since v3 of NLP I mostly edit directly in NLP, because I can skip the png copies.
Both options worked fine for me. So I guess you just need to find a consistent way to edit here.

It would be helpful if you could tell us what seems hard… Maybe include some examples? Are you scanning with a flatbed, a film scanner, a dSLR, or a mirrorless camera? What light source do you use? Details matter… a LOT.

In color, there is the challenge that every emulsion batch of every brand and stock of film is slightly different. As a pro lab scanning and color correction guy, 20 years ago, I learned that the hard way. There are dye fading, C-41 process control, lab-to-lab variability, film storage and aging environmental effects, and many other issues to deal with. NLP 3.0 should help a LOT with that.