I this correct?

Good day All,

Fellow NLP fam, i’m new to NLP and am having trouble understanding the correct/effective process to get the best out of my negatives. if you are well versed in NLP and possibly VueScan and have a solid consistent workflow system- consisting of certains settings perhaps or just trick you’ve learned/picked up along the way I would be greatly appreciative for any and all suggestions.

I’ve typed out the process that I follow but not sure if correct, if I’m doing something wrong, or if there’s something/information I’m missing/need.

INTRO:
From what I’ve gathered, the most important VueScan tabs are, Input & Output. Is that correct? Also heard that since I’m scanning a RAW file, the Color Tab settings won’t matter since it’s a RAW scan. Is that also correct?

running on NLP v2.2.0 , VueScan software 9 x64 (9.7.47), Lightroom v10.0,
macOS Big Sur v11.2.1 &,
if that matters.

THANK YOU ALL IN ADVANCE! :handshake::heavy_heart_exclamation:

—————————————————————————

1. hit preview for a quick scan of the negative.

2. crop image from the preview negative scan, not containing any film borders. check ‘lock exposure’ box.

3. now recrop preview negative scan to include some of the film borders.

4. hit Scan.

5. import scan into Lightroom.

6. now in Library, go to File, Plug-in Extras, Update VueScan/Silverfast DNGs. then follow the instructions. (go to Photo>Read Metadata From File) ( make sure Profile says Negative Lab v2.1) if I understood this step correctly, you needed to do this metadata-process for each new import you make to Lightroom? if I’m off please correct me.