LR setting inverted?

Hi - it seems that with the new NL 2.1 my settings for Tone in LR CC have inverted? When I want to increase the exposure of an image for example to make an image lighter, I have to move the slider towards the left ? Did I do something wrong scanning ? I have used NL for a while - I scan as image, 48bit and save as Raw/DNG and then convert. This happens with both Color and B&W film.

Thanks for your help! Dick

No, That is how NL behaves (sadly). The inversion is achieved via sliding the curves feet over head so most other settings in LR go crazy.

I am not a developer but I wonder if this could be fixed. For now you need to make a TIFF copy and work ahead on that file. This is a shortcoming of this plug-in.

I am working with 500Mb 6x6 scans already so adding a TIF copy for post production adds another 500Mb of storage … 1Gb per photo seems a lot :flushed:

1 Like

I agree it’s a little confusing at first, but I wouldn’t want them to change it. It happens because your original scan file is a negative – the lightest tones of the subject are the darkest tones of the scan and vice-versa. Lightroom inverts the tones when displaying the file so it looks normal, but it’s still a negative – as you’ll find out if you open the scan file in an application that doesn’t respect Lightroom’s adjustments.

One of the guiding principles of Lightroom (and by extension NLP) is that your original file always remains untouched – all the adjustments you can make in Lightroom are non-destructive and can always be undone later if you change your mind or decide on a different interpretation for your image. That’s different from editing in (for example) Photoshop, where once you change the value of a pixel it is changed forever.