NLP v2.1 profile darken negatives - is it normal?

Good morning,

I have been using NLP for 6 months now, but just recently have started using the Lightroom profile NLP v2.1.
I read on this forum that it was the correct profile for scanning DNG negatives with my scanners (Epson V600 for medium format and Plustek 8100 for 35mm).

What I found is that the v2.1 profile darken the negatives quite a lot in Lightroom, meaning lighter positives (I usually need to reduce brightness around -10 to -20).
I dont believe my shots are over-exposed, and the negatives look fine before conversion to v2.1 profile.

Is the change in brightness from this profile voluntary? Should I keep using it? (it doesn’t impact final result, apart from the fact that I always need to reduce brightness).

I searched on the forum but didn’t find similar issue. If I missed it and there is already a discussion on it, please feel free to just forward the link to me!

I am fairly beginner in editing properly with NLP so any advice would be appreciated.

Antoine

Hi @Antoine,

This is completely normal. The v2.1 profile does two things internally that will make it appear darker than the embedded profile.

1. It sets a linear tone curve. (The embedded profile will have LR’s standard tone curve in it, which will distort the color results).
  2. It internally sets the exposure to -1.00. I did this initially to avoid any “highlight compression” that can happen in Lightroom if the histogram gets too far to the right. But assuming that are not close to clipping, you could set the exposure in your scans to +1.00 before converting to bring it back to where it was initially.

Hope that helps!

-Nate

Hi Nate,

Thank you for coming back to me and glad this is all normal!

I will try the +1 before conversion in Lightroom, I am sure that will fix my exposure issue :slight_smile:

Antoine