Opinion and help!

Hey guys!

I am new to film photography and developing/scanning at home so I would like to ask your opinion about my setup and workflow. I also attached a picture from my last developed and scanned roll of Portra 400.

When I see shots posted on reddit or even Instagram, I have the feeling my photos are not coming as they supposed to. Mostly regarding sharpness, noise and exposure.

I’m using a Nikon FA with a 50mm 1.4 AIS lens. For my last roll I used Portra 400 metered at 200 so overexposed. (I’ve read and seen a lot of reviews on internet and Youtube where they say Portra needs more light). The shot in the attachement was made at F8, I use apperture priotity and multi pattern metering (not center weighted)

For developing I use Tetenal Colortec C-41. I followed the table in the small book coming with the kit and since I reached my 4th roll, I developed the film 9 minutes (first 30 seconds with the stick rotating, then turning rotating gently 3 times every minute). I then used the Blix for 8 min (same agitation technique like for developing), then 6 min rinsing, and then 1 min for the fixer. The temperature I tried to keep for all chemicals 30 degrees ± 0.5

For scanning I use my XT3 with a Canon FD 50mm 3.5 Macro lens with extension tube to reach 1:1 magnification. Kaiser Slimlite plano is my light table. I use the Lomography Digitizer for 35mm as a film holder. (However I do not cover the part of the light table that I dont use when scanning. Maybe this is also one problem?)

My settings for scanning:
F8, ISO 160, SS 1sec (is this too long?)
-I’ve read that its better to expose to the right when scanning negatives to get the whole information from the shadows.

• I shoot RAW only
  • I try to focus on the grain using focus peaking