Very inaccurate colors I lost all the hope

Hi Folks,

I’ve been shooting film for several years but mainly B&W.
From time to time I go for color negatives e.g. Kodak Portra 400 (120mm) or Kodak Gold 200.

Every time I see those beautiful spring or summer environment via viewfinder I hope for great shots.
Unfortunately there’s a great disappointment when it comes to the images later on.
I’ve invested a bit - purchaised Lightroom Classic (very hard to get nowadays) just to use with NLP and tried scanning some negatives.

I have Epson V550 and I followed very preciesely the guidelines for two methods using:

• Epson Scan
  • VueScan

But no matter how hard I try I get a failure instead of beauty, pastel colors, accurate skin tones of e.g Portra 400.

There are two different examples
One using Epson scan → no matter what I select for WB it is not accurate:
Negative (jpg coverted from TIFF just to post it)

Sample conversion from NLP
![skan_test_Capture.PNG|690x433]

Another example but now using VueScan and RAW dng methof (also converted to JPG).
I haven’t purchaised VueScan, just wanted to check if it makes any difference, so please don’t mind the watermark.
![Skan_test-002|486x500]

I still remember how the scene looked like, it was a vivid summer scenery but now it is not only low saturated but also miss balanced when it comes to WB.

I’ve tried picking up a gray from the “street” but it’s still off.
![skan_test_Capture3.PNG|690x392]
![skan_test_Capture2.PNG|690x447]

I don’t like the images at all.
Adding more “pre saturation” or “contrast” makes it even more tinted.

Honestly speaking after seeing hours of youtube videos where users where getting very good looking images at the very first step - just conversion I feel depressed. I am seriously thinking of selling my color negatives if I cannot get it right.

PS. OUCH I cannot embed more than 1 upload as a new user :frowning:
Thanks for the support

The seconds scans (Using VueScan)

And the sample conversion I got