What do you all think of the Film Photography Project 35mm Basic DSLR Film Scanner Kit?

I have thousands of my late grandfather’s negatives I want to scan that range all the way from the ‘50s to the early 2000s. It’s important that I do the scanning as accurately as possible for digital archiving purposes.

I’ll be using either a Nikon D750 or a Z6 and possibly a Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Macro 1:1 lens (if it’s up to the task).

I’ve been looking at the Film Photography Project 35mm Basic DSLR Film Scanner Kit. Will it be substantial enough to do what I need? I’m brand new to this.

Thanks in advance!

I’ll start, I don’t think much of that copy stand.

1 Like

What do you think of this kit? https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1793925-REG/negative_supply_e35kitmk3_enthusiast_kit_for_35mm.html/?ap=y&ap=y&smp=y&smp=y&smpm=ba_f2_lar&lsft=BI%3A6879&gad_source=1&gbraid=0AAAAAD7yMh3n3HwdjbXRYvxOoafq4BRDL&gclid=CjwKCAjwrIixBhBbEiwACEqDJdeqxi3UZdCXXJe7FVFXRpC0pqFwkgx8Zd6CDkx4rkwaVcSgj0hByhoCbPEQAvD_BwE

Rather than set myself as a copy stand reviewer (from photos) I can understand the problem that manufacturers face, even top end ones. Copy stands, substantial ones, are very expensive to manufacture, and to deliver, just have a look at Kaiser. So anyone hoping to provide a kit that includes a copy stand has to make compromises. A solid copy stand is very important because any camera movement at 1:1 can have a very real detrimental effect on resolution - unless you use flash of course but generally film holders aren’t designed around flash, these aren’t.