Film holder options and setups

hi, i’m new to using a digital camera to scan, but not new to scanning film on scanners.

i’m figuring out my setup, for:

• scanning full rolls
  • uncut preferred
  • without cropping
  • efficiently on a regular basis
  • 2-4 rolls a week
  • compact space, small apt

in short:
is there a good 35mm film holder that doesn’t crop?
is there an affordable solid copy stand? or just use tripod and bubble levels

further details:

nikon es-2

• it crops
  • i’m getting a weird halo glow on the edge, which would prob go away w/ different holder.
  • only good for 60mm lens, i prefer to use 105mm lens

anyone know good adapters or method to extend distance from lens to holder?

film holders i haven’t tried
has anyone tried these?
any other to consider?
enlarger negative carriers?

negative solutions
$26

lomography film holder
$40

imacon film holder
i already own a filed out one, but only fits 4 frames, not super fun to mount

film holder skier
skier
$120

negative supply
$329
expensive but conveniently feeds the film w/o moving the holder.
https://www.negative.supply

thanks!

1 Like

I’m not guaranteeing this would work for you, but it works really well for me. Alignment is automatic, there’s no stray light leakage, and it works fine with uncut film as long as you have enough counter space:

If you’d rather have a negative-carrier option, I sometimes use a Beseler Negatrans made for Beseler enlargers. It transports the film by turning a knob. I paid about $40 for a used one on eBay.

1 Like

thanks, i’m not sure i was getting light leakage, cause the entire frame in my viewfinder was dark, since i was using the nikon es-2 film holder. also if light was leaking in, it would show up as darker, not brighter, after inversion.

i’m leaning towards the skier film holder, to use on my existing lightbox.
i’d like the negative supply one, but the price is pretty high.