EFH and Raleno 116

Hello there,

I am a negative lab pro user and I have just purchased an Essential Film Holder (https://www.clifforth.co.uk/), which I am planning to couple with a Raleno Video light (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07PMSBLTH).

I know this depends on many different things, but I am experiencing 1/15 of a sec average shutter speeds with the combination above when dslr scanning at f8 and iso 100.

I would be interested in hearing from other people as although the camera is steady enough I was hoping to get to 1/60 at least. I did scan 7 rolls of 120 color negative yesterday and never seen the shutter speed ( i am Aperture priority ) above 1/50.

Thanks

Please excuse me for asking. What is/are your question/s really?

What shutter speeds,on average, people seem to experience when using EFH and Raleno 116

Hi. I have that same setup (EFH & same Raleno 192 light). I get an average of around 1/60 @ f/8 @ ISO 100 using a D750 and 60/2.8 AFS. Always +1 exposure in manual.

I see, that’s a pretty decent shutter speed. I am wondering why I am getting half of that, this obviously depends on many factors, but it seems to be a constant for me.
When you say +1 exposure in manual, what do you mean?

A slight overexposure can reduce noise in the shadows, which will in turn be the bright parts after converting with NLP. Find more details here and in other posts that you find when searching for ETTR.

1 Like

That makes sense, thanks!

1 Like

I shoot in manual mode and set the aperture to F/8. I then adjust the shutter speed until it’s at +1 over exposure, As @Digitizer mentioned, it helps to overexposed a little.

To ask the obvious … you do have the brightness of the Raleno panel set to 100%?

Yep, 100% and 5600 kelvin. And I am not overexposing either. If I do that I would probably get shutter speeds north of 1/8 which is not ideal really.