Evenness of light source

I’m new to the world of camera scanning but not photography. I just built my copy stand, bought a lens and bought the Negative Supply 4x5 Light Source MK2. The first copy of the light source I received had a lot of fall off towards the edges (almost a full stop on one side), I returned it and they sent a replacement, this one is much better but it still falls off by about a third of a stop at one edge/corner and about a quarter of a stop on the other. My question is, is this normal? I realize it’s very hard to get perfectly even light but that’s what I expected. Wouldn’t be an issue but I was hoping to scan 4x5 film on this. Thanks for any replies!

Disappointing that you had to send the first one back but good that they didn’'t quibble about sending a replacement. Is it possible that the light fall off you are seeing is coming from your lens? Are you using a particular branded film holder for your copying so that you need a panel of a certain size to fit underneath it? Just asking because I think a lot of panels aren’t quite as good at the edges so a larger panel might be better if 5x4 is a priority. Otherwise Flatfield Correction in Lightroom should deal with it.