Lab Microscope stand as Copy Stand

Hi folks! Building my first Camera scanning rig.

I am a scientist. I can’t help but notice how similar copy stands ($$$$) look to the stands I use in the lab—either for chemistry equipment or for micro-dissection scopes.

Some of these Lab stands are really cheap, and I thought I might give one a try… Just wondered if anyone else had done the same, and if you’d had a good/bad experience.

Here is a url with some examples, if you’re unclear on what I’m referring to or are inspired. :slight_smile:

https://www.aliexpress.us/item/2255801044747177.html?spm=a2g0o.store_pc_allProduct.8148356.49.77f248e7yFH2UI&pdp_npi=2%40dis!USD!US%20%2442.99!US%20%2433.53!!!!!%40210318bb16698551736954406edaac!10000015384321740!sh&gatewayAdapt=glo2usa&_randl_shipto=US

Hey there – Welcome to the forum!

I’ve been looking into these in the past too. Two things held me back: (1) the max height of these stands. Depending on your set up (and needs), you may just run out of working height. (2) I had doubts they would be sturdy enough to hold a heavy camera + lens without wobbling.

Hi there! Thank you!

The first point is my primary concern… One thought I had was to set up the lightbox+film (lower) and the camera (higher) on different “tables” such that at minimum, I’d be within a couple inches of where I’d want to be for 35mm. Then, any raising I’d need to do would take advantage of the whole vertical pipe. Not sure that would be enough, but that’s a thought nevertheless… Perhaps one could purchase a taller vertical separately if they have the same diameter and thread.

The second one, given that the weight of dissecting scopes exceeds anything I could put together in terms of camera plus lens I am not worried about.

If I end up going this direction, I’ll post the result :slight_smile:

Thanks for your reply!