Next steps after installation

Newbie here just after buying NLP and Vuescan Pro. I want to make Vuescan raw images from Dlsr raw files (RAF and NEF). Installed both and tried to set relevant files/folders for Lightroom Classic. I’m now floundering with my next steps.
Ian

Are you using windows or macOS? Which version?

Hi,

I using Windows 10. I want Vuescan to make 48bit raw files from my negatives after digitising with my D810 and X100T. Then for NLP to convert.

Ian

Okay, I’m on Mac, so my proposal can be fairly simple: Check Nate’s Manual and try things as you go along.

I did a series of trials in order to find out what the best setting might be and found that there are too many variables to make one setting work for all negatives. It could be helpful to work with one film type, e.g. all Ektar 100s in a batch. Learning by doing…

Hi,

If you are using DSLR raw scans, there is no need to involve Vuescan anywhere in the process. Just bring the RAF and NEF files into Lightroom, and process with Negative Lab Pro.

-Nate
Creator of Negative Lab Pro

Nate,
Thanks for you reply which I now understand. I do have a problem with the NLP installation. I followed your procedure but after restarting Lightroom Classic I have not been able to find NLP via any Lightroom menu or right side profile. Obviously I have made an error in the installation process. I’m running fully updated Adobe products and latest Windows 10.0.18363
Ian

There is a readme file in the download. Follow each step in order, carefully. If you have an issue, let me know which step number it is that is giving you an issue.

INSTALLING

1. Unzip your Negative Lab Pro download (I’m guessing you’ve already done that if you’re seeing this file.)