Overexposed film converting with strange color

Hello, Im very new to the film development and scanning, and this is my first post here, please be nice :wink:
the photo was overly exposed due to first time using phone light meter app and wrongly read “56” aperture as “5.6”. it was also first time using this camera Bronica sqai.

1. Which version of Negative Lab Pro are you using?.

v2.3.0

1. If using DSLR scanning, please include: 1) camera make/model, 2) lens make/model, 3) light source make/model.

Sony A7, 90mm MacroG, 99CRI light bed. film kodak Potra 160; 6*6 frame.

1. Please add the conversion you are having difficulty with, along with a short description of what you are seeing wrong with it.

when simply convert by default setting, i got strange yellow part on the left side.
but when i choose to covert to black and white, it looks normal.

Raw file:

many thanks if you can share some ideas how to correctly convert the photo :wink:

We can try to make the best out of your dufficult starting point:

1. Converted the image manually (not with NLP), inverting the R, G and B tone curves, sort of like the thing that NLP does (check out the tone curves of a converted image)
  2. Desaturated all colours but red using the HSL tool

The image looks foggy still, there are some gradients and clouds, but I don’t mind all of that, because we still got something that looks quite all right in my eyes.

Sometimes, negatives can be difficult to handle by automated tools and then, some manual labour can save the day…

1 Like

wow, thank you very much for your help.
looks amazing, I noticed that you even removed some ‘errors’.
so now i will start playing with photoshop/pixelmator to tackle these corner cases.

errors, hmm.

If we take photography as a way of reproducing what was, it’s something else than using it as a way to express whatever crosses our minds, enhances a vision or a feeling.