Underexposed / Nighttime Negative Help

Hey everyone,

I’m looking for some tips on an issue I’m having. I am still relatively new to film photography and have troubles nailing my exposure at times, along with working on some nighttime shots. I have been getting orange overflow along the borders of my images, however I do my scans in complete darkness and have a black construction paper mask to block the extra light from my light source.

I normally set my dslr to +1 exposure compensation, but I am finding that removing that helps get rid of the orange overflow.

I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions on things I can do to help improve this or if I am missing some step in the process that is causing the orange glow. My setup and an example image are below.

Any help is appreciated thanks!

Here is my setup:
Fuji XT20 - Laowa 65mm f2.8 Macro set to f/8
Copy Stand
RALENO LED
Negative Supply 35mm Mrk 1

Can’t see any on your example screenshot… The conversion looks fine to me.
Are you concerned about the orange rings around the streetlights?

Do you can kind of see it between these two scans. Looking at the top right tree branch, and along the left side of the image. It’s not supposed to have that orange glow, and in this second image you can kind of see how the branch is missing some of orange glow.

Hmm, it’s visible now (forum images are usually less pronounced than an image on the screen) and I’d probably try to eliminate the glow by a radial mask/correction. Maybe you can use the same correction for every image, if the glow is caused by your setup.

How even is the light from your light source? If you changed the orientation of the negative, would the ‘orange flow’ stay in the same spot?

How do your negatives look - I imagine pretty thin if exposed at night.

I know exactly what this is. It’s the vignetting of the lens. When inverted it brightens the edges. It’s visible in very dark images.
You solve it by applying the flat field correction in Lightroom.