Beginner's question - digital contacts

A complete beginner with NLP - I wish to make digital contact sheets by simply photographing a full roll of cut 35mm colour neg strips in a clear acetate sleeve placed on a lightbox. Presumably I can (using Lightroom) crop down to one frame so the background light source is excluded, do the NLP conversion, apply and then reset the crop in Lightroom so that the whole roll is visible with the NLP adjustments applied. Does this approach make sense?

Thanks,
Alex

OK - I can see that this is a popular approach. I’m still on the trial version of NLP, and it seems that I can’t just convert the single frame and then reset the crop in Lightroom - I have to apply the conversion before I can access Lightroom again. Is this correct?

Alex

Check out the user guide:

There’s a Facebook forum for Negative Lab Pro as well and a similar question was posted on there:

The method you describe should be fine, Nate Johnson (creator of NLP) replied on there as follows:

"I quick tip: if you want a better conversion on a contact sheet like this, first crop in to just one image with no border showing (or with a little border but definitely no sprocket holes or direct backlight. Then after the conversion, you can just recrop to show the full contact sheet. You get a better conversion this way because otherwise, the conversion analysis will include the non-film areas in its analysis and that will throw it off. "

The first attempt by the OP showed insipid washed out colour with a blue cast, that advice seemed to fix it.

That said a few years ago I had to do it for someone else’s archive films and a got a pretty decent result using a DIY preset in Lightroom alone, a little hit & miss because of the different types of film, NLP should be better provided you use a representative frame first of all.